Students recognized for achievements during LarkFest Awards

Hesston College sophomores Hannah Weaver (left) and Rebecca Eichelberger (right) were named Larks of the Year during the annual LarkFest Awards ceremony May 2.

Hesston College students were recognized for their academic and extracurricular achievements during the 2013-14 year at Larkfest May 2. Larkfest is an annual end-of-the-year event that recognizes students for their academic, extracurricular, service and leadership accomplishments throughout the academic year. View the Larkfest ceremony.

Two students, sophomores Rebecca Eichelberger (Geneva, Neb.) and Hannah Weaver (Inola, Okla.), received the Lark of the Year Award for demonstrating excellence in academics, leadership and service. Lark of the Year nominees were selected through grade-point average and involvement in leadership and service opportunities on campus, and the faculty chose the winners.

Receiving the Ambassador of the Year awards from Admissions were Josh Booth (Newton, Kan.), Myles Cardenas (Conyers, Ga.), Jason Oyer (Hubbard, Ore.), Taylor Wright (Salem, Ore.) and Carley Wyse (Archbold, Ohio).

Receiving the Resident Assistant of the Year awards from Student Life were sophomores Morgan Martin (New Holland, Pa.) and Tyler Roth (Canby, Ore.).

Named as Male and Female Athletes of the year based on athletic and academic achievement were sophomore women’s basketball player Makayla Ladwig (Wichita, Kan.) and sophomore short stop for the baseball team Nick Yoder (Millersburg, Ohio).

Receiving the Hesston College Business Department Award were sophomores Alyssa Becker (North Newton, Kan.), Mitchell Denlinger (Denver, Pa.) and Mitchell Martin (Milford, Neb.).

Receiving the Bill Mason Business Scholarship were freshmen Eric Cender (Valparaiso, Ind.), Jordan Tanner (Houston, Texas) and Grant Walker (North Newton, Kan.). The scholarship was established in honor of longtime business instructor, Bill Mason, Hesston, Kan., and awards a $2,500 scholarship to business students during their sophomore year.

Receiving the Behavioral Science Department Award were sophomores Taylor Wright (Salem, Ore.) and Wesley Wilder (Hesston, Kan.).

Receiving the Clayton V. Beyler Award from the Bible department were sophomores Becca Slabaugh (Goshen, Ind.) and Nick Yoder (Millersburg, Ohio).

Receiving the Daniel Gerber Peace and Service Award from the Bible department was sophomore Josh Landis (Sterling, Ill.).

Receiving the Science and Math Department Achievement Award was sophomore Kelvin Ferbianto (Jakarta, Indonesia).

Receiving the Teacher Preparation Award was sophomore Samantha Aeschliman (Lindsborg, Kan.).

Receiving the Service Leader Award for 60 or more hours of community service logged during the academic year were sophomores Jeffrey Smoker (Harrisonburg, Va.) and Simon Zehr (Tiskilwa, Ill.) and freshman Elisabeth Wilder (Hesston, Kan.).

Larkfest webcast