Students recognized for acheivements

Hesston College students were recognized for their academic and extracurricular achievements during the 2012-13 year at Larkfest April 26.

Larkfest is an annual end-of-the-year event that recognizes students for their academic, extracurricular, service and leadership accomplishments throughout the academic year. The full Larkfest ceremony can be viewed online at

Two students, sophomores Bonita Garber, Bainbridge, Pa., and Jacob Landis, Sterling, Ill.,  received the newly established Lark of the Year Award for demonstrating excellence in academics, leadership and service. Lark of the Year nominees were selected through grade-point average and involvement in leadership and service opportunities on campus and the faculty and staff chose the winners.

Receiving the Ambassador of the Year awards from Admissions were sophomores Quinn Bowers, McPherson, Kan., and Carly Unruh, Wayland, Iowa.
Receiving the Resident Assistant of the Year awards from Student Life were sophomores Zenawit Nerae, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, and Michael Oyer, Hesston, Kan.

Sophomore Mahlon Jones, Oklahoma City, was named a third-team National Junior College Athletic Association Division II All-American.

Receiving the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Award for Exemplary Academic Achievement were Atsushi Ambo, Niigata, Japan, men’s basketball; Brooke Beckerman, Inman, Kan., softball; Broxton Busenitz, North Newton, Kan., men’s soccer; Taylor Ermoian, Hays, Kan., men’s tennis; Jenae Hershberger, Goshen, Ind., women’s cross country; Mariah Martin, Glenwood Springs, Colo., women’s soccer; Marissa Schuett, Wichita, Kan., volleyball; Kayla Stevenson, Meade, Kan., women’s cross country; Pierre Zook, McMinnville, Ore., men’s basketball. The award is given to sophomore students who earn a 3.6 to 3.79 GPA.

Receiving the NJCAA Award for Superior Academic Achievement were Jacob Landis, Sterling, Ill., men’s cross country, and Courtney Unruh, Hesston, Kan., women’s tennis. The award is given to sophomore students who earn a 3.8 to 3.99 GPA.

Receiving the NJCAA Pinnacle Award for Academic Excellence were Olivia Miller, Newton, Kan., softball; Mollie Nebel, Hesston, Kan., volleyball; and Keisei Ohta, Kanagawa, Japan, men’s tennis. The award is given to sophomore students who earn a 4.0 GPA.

Named as Male and Female Athletes of the year based on athletic and academic achievement were sophomore softball player Hayley Gately, Roseville, Calif., and sophomore cross country runner Jacob Landis, Sterling, Ill.

Receiving the Hesston College Business Department Award were sophomores Neal Brubaker, Goessel, Kan.; Broxton Busenitz, North Newton, Kan.; Keisei Ohta, Kanagawa, Japan; and Matt Weaver, Goshen, Ind.

Receiving the Bill Mason Business Scholarship were freshmen Alyssa Becker, North Newton, Kan.; Mitchell Denlinger, Denver, Pa.; Mitchell Martin, Milford, Neb.; and Amy Seibel, Lawrence, Miss. The scholarship was established in honor of longtime business instructor, Bill Mason, Hesston, Kan., and awards a $2,500 scholarship to business students during their sophomore year.

Receiving the Mariann Martin Drama Award from the Theatre department was sophomore Deni Brummer, Hutchinson, Kan.

Receiving the Social Science Excellence Award were sophomores Taylor Ermoian, Hays, Kan.; Sam Foxvog, Tiskilwa, Ill.; and Sam Ruth, Wichita, Kan.

Receiving the Clayton V. Beyler Award from the Bible department were sophomores Jacob Landis, Sterling, Ill., and Mariah Martin, Glenwood Springs, Colo.

Receiving the Daniel Gerber Peace and Service Award from the Bible department was sophomore Asbel Assefa, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Receiving the Outstanding Math/Science Graduate Award was sophomore Cory Bowman, Millersburg, Ind.

Receiving the Service Leader Award for 60 or more hours of community service logged during the academic year were sophomores Adam Heisey, Elizabethtown, Pa.; and Mason Unruh, Newton, Kan.; and unclassified student Philip Kauffman, Hesston, Kan.