Students recognized for academic and leadership achievements

Larkfest 2020 feature image

Hesston College students were recognized for their achievements in academics and leadership in a virtual LarkFest Awards ceremony, May 15.

The top award for Lark of the Year went to sophomore Levi Geyer, Oxford, Iowa, for excellence in leadership, academics and service. Students are nominated for Lark of the Year by faculty and the recipient is chosen by a faculty vote.

Other award winners include:

Admissions Outstanding Ambassador Award, Mauricio Cruz Cordero, Santa Tecla, El Salvador; Paulina Diaz, Cassopolis, Mich.; Raelynn Reeves, Abilene, Kan.; and Madison Swartzendruber, Goshen, Ind.

Behavioral Science Excellence Award, Rachel Miller, Freeman, S.D.

Bill Mason Business Scholarship recipients to receive a $2,500 scholarship for their sophomore year of business study at Hesston, Kerem De La Cruz, Wichita, Kan.; Grace Litwiller, Hopedale, Ill.; Yuya Muranaka, Hiroshima, Japan; Suhyeon Park, Pyeongtaek-si, South Korea; and Romina Xhari, Lezhe, Albania.

Student Development Officer Awards for students who call alumni during Phonathon, Rei Vuksani, Tirana, Albania, for the most money brought in, and Laura Yeboah-Appiah (Kumasi, Ghana) for the most completed calls.

Clayton V. Beyler Award for Bible and Ministry students, Raelynn Reeves, Abilene, Kan.

Daniel Gerber Peace and Service Award, Levi Geyer, Oxford, Iowa.

Dedicated Artist Award, Abby Busby, Bandera, Texas.

Standing “O” Theatre Award, Tommy Brown, Valley Center, Kan.

Musician of the Year Award, Jacob Bontrager, Smithville, Ohio; and Navy Widyani, Jakarta, Indonesia.

Peer Educator Award, Autumn Gehman, Adams, Tenn.; and Michael Mullet, Lagrange, Ind.

Physical Education Award, Maleah Sandy, Girard, Kan.

Yoder/Zaid Scholarship, awarded to a chemistry student who shows promise, Christian Becker, Marion, Kan.
Southwind Global Aviation Scholarship recipient, Taitem Zeigler, Natoma, Kan.

Outstanding Academic Achievement Award, given to graduating international students with a 4.0 GPA, Gabriella Audrey, Semarang, Indonesia; and Tobie Plett, East St. Paul, Manitoba, Canada.

Unsung Hero Award presented by the Student Advisory Board to a faculty or staff member, Brenda Wenger, Student Life Administrative Assistant.

Resident Assistants of the Year, Rachel Miller, Freeman, S.D.; and Tobie Plett, East St. Paul, Manitoba, Canada.

View the virtual Larkfest ceremony.