Sophomore among 19 students state-wide to receive scholarship for service and success

The Kansas Independent College Foundation, (KICF), on behalf of its 20-member institutions, is proud to announce the 2019 Maud Wyatt Recognition Scholarship Recipients. KICF awards up to 20 individual scholarships, for a student at each Foundation member institution. The recipients are all full-time, degree seeking students on the cusp of graduation, and have each demonstrated excellence in academics, character and integrity, and a commitment to the value of a private college education in Kansas. These students maintain GPAs of 3.5 or above while also contributing to their respective communities.

Hannah Klusman, a sophomore from Ford, Kan., is the recipient from Hesston College. Klusman is studying English.

Recipients from the other member institutions are:

Baker University – Caelan Rogers, an English literature major and native of Lawrence, Kan.
Barclay College – Ashley Weinacht, a theology & worship Arts major from Greenleaf, Idaho
Benedictine College – Jeremy Larsen, a biochemistry major and native of Nortonville, Kan.
Bethany College – Lydia Nicholson, a digital art major from Hesston, Kan.
Bethel College – Kaci Wilson, a chemistry major and a resident of Sterling, Kan.
Central Christian College of Kansas – Melissa Reimer, an elementary education major from Hesston, Kan.
Cleveland University-Kansas City – Darrell McDonald, a human biology major from Kansas City, Mo.
Donnelly College – Lilliana Rodriguez, a liberal arts major and native of Kansas City, Kan.
Friends University – MaKayla Hollis, a biology major and resident of Conway Springs, Kan.
Kansas Wesleyan University – Hailey Vandevanter, a business major from Georgetown, Ky.
Manhattan Christian College – Davinna Farney, a Bible & leadership major from Park City, Kan.
McPherson College – Kento Aizawa, a mathematics major local to McPherson, Kan.
MidAmerica Nazarene University – Maris George, an elementary education major from Cimarron, Kan.
Newman University – Taylor White, an art major local to Wichita, Kan.
Southwestern College – Niyonkuru Innocent, an accounting major from Jamestown, N.D.
Sterling College – Zoe Oppriecht, a health sciences major and native of Kansas City, Mo.
Tabor College – Tassanee Sanchez, an elementary education major from Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
University of Saint Mary – Rachel Thomas, a chemistry and biology major from Claremore, Okla.

The scholarship was established in 1995 through the generosity of Maud Wyatt, whose bequest has supported the work of KICF and its institutions since 1961. The Kansas Independent College Foundation seeks to develop, promote, and direct unified approaches to selected corporations, foundations, and individuals for financial support of Kansas’ independent colleges and universities. Details, including the winners’ GPAs, can be found here.